The Best All-time Baseball Movie? ….. You Decide!

There’s nothing better than a bucket of buttered popcorn and a good baseball movie .  I’ve seen a lot of them and up until a month ago my very favorite was probably “For Love of the Game” with Kevin Costner.  Who wouldn’t love Costner in a baseball movie?  He’s such a “guy” as Kelly Preston tells him in the movie.  It’s about the perfect game and except for some flashbacks the entire story takes place in one day on a quest for the perfect game.  I’ve seen it at least seven times and will undoubtedly watch it seven more.

Jonah Hill in "Moneyball"

But on November 24 this year I could hardly contain myself waiting for “Moneyball” to open.   I waited for it with excitement and anticipation like a kid on Christmas Eve waiting for Christmas morning,   especially after reading the book.  And I wasn’t disappointed.  I’ve seen it three times and will definitely buy the DVD and then I’ll watch it some more.  As expected,  Brad Pitt did a great job as Billy Beane, but I was taken back by the bean counter character played by Jonah Hill.  I still chuckle thinking about the deadpan one-liner’s that he slowly rolled out, one after another with precision timing.  But the kicker was the scene in Beane’s office when he was trying to negotiate for a player via telephone at the direction of Beane (Brad Pitt).  The exaggerated fist pump was perfect ~ if you saw it you know what I mean.

So I’m seriously wondering what the average reader would consider the best movie.   Let me know what you think.    I’ll publish the “best of the best” on a later blog.   Here you go:

3 responses to “The Best All-time Baseball Movie? ….. You Decide!

  1. So many great choices, my choice is the Natural but I wrote in Field of Dreams just because it should be on the list, too! Love the blog as always, thanks and merry xmas!

  2. But of course! I started with a list of over 45 movies that included Field of Dreams ~ it should absolutely be on the list. It is now :)) Merry Christmas Andrew and thanks for the Comment.

  3. 1. Eight Men Out
    2. Moneyball
    3. 61

Leave a Reply

